Article Detail

Mathematics Professor Wins Top Teaching Award at CCC


A professor known for his passion for mathematics and teaching has won the top instructional award available to Camden County College faculty members. Pablo Echeverria of Narberth, Pa., received the 2012 Lindback Distinguished Teaching Award.


According to academic affairs Vice President Margaret Hamilton, instructors are nominated based largely on their concern and sensitivity to the needs of their students and their ability to demonstrate positive learning outcomes. Recipients of this award are known for their human quality in the classroom and the lasting influence they have had on their students.


“Professor Echeverria is, first, a passionate teacher,” Hamilton said. “He meets students where they are in the classroom and helps them achieve higher levels of success than they dreamed possible. He has the ability to take complex theorems in math and explain them in ways that enable students to have a deeper understanding of complex concepts and problems, and he effectively integrates the newest technology with a variety of teaching methods as diverse as the students in his classes.


“His colleagues say that he inspires great teaching while his students say that he inspires them to work harder and learn more. His dedication cannot be surpassed.”


Since joining the College’s full-time faculty in 1999, Echeverria has achieved the rank of associate professor. In addition to his instructional work, he has coordinated periodic screenings of international films on campus and even developed a full international film festival for the College community.


Echeverria earned a bachelor of science degree and a master of arts degree, both in mathematics, from the University of Puerto Rico. He also holds a master of arts degree in mathematical statistics from the University of Maryland.


A faculty committee selected Echeverria for the award, which is funded by the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation. Prior winners include Lawrence Chatman and William Taylor (2011), Jennifer Hoheisel (2010), Elisabeth Bass (2009), Dianne Falvo and Carla Monticelli (2008), Faustino Gonzalez (2007), William Wilhelm (2006), Robert Lorenzi (2005), Dorothy Brown and Hoda Zaki (2004), Catherine Boos (2003), Kelly Jackson (2002), Claire Berger (2001), Adrienne Coons (2000), Paul Harris (1999) and Ellen Freedman (1998).

Published: May 22, 2012